Herbie J Pilato


Herbie J Pilato is a writer, producer, actor, and TV personality whose list of critically-acclaimed pop-culture/media tie-in books include THE 12 BEST SECRETS OF CHRISTMAS, MARY: THE MARY TYLER MOORE STORY, TWITCH UPON A STAR: THE BEWITCHED LIFE AND CAREER OF ELIZABETH MONTGOMERY, and the soon-to-be-published RETRO ACTIVE TELEVISION: AN IN-DEPTH PERSPECTIVE OF CLASSIC TV’S SOCIAL CIRCUITRY, among many others.

Pilato has served as a Features Writer for Television Academy (via Emmys.com and Emmy Magazine) and has contributed to several other media outlets, such as Closer Magazine, and TVWriter.com, for which he has served as Contributing Editor Emeritus for over twenty-five years.

Pilato has written, produced, and/or served as a cultural commentator on various TV, DVD, and Blu-ray documentaries including the upcoming new Bewitched documentary for the Reelz Channel, the recent Blu-ray release of The Six Million Dollar Man, and The Bionic Woman, and CNN’s hit eight-part series, History of the Sitcom.

Pilato has worked on other documentaries including Bravo’s 100 Greatest TV Characters, Bewitched: The True Hollywood Story, David Carradine: The E! True Hollywood Story, A&E’s Biography of Lee Majors, TLC’s Behind the Fame specials about The Mary Tyler Moore Show and The Bob Newhart Show, L.A. Law and Hill Street Blues, the Syfy Channel’s Sciography series, and the TV Guide Channel’s hit five-part series, 100 Moments That Changed TV.

In 2019, Pilato teamed with Joel Eisenberg and Steve Hillard (Council Tree Productions) to host and executive produce Then Again with Herbie J Pilato, the hit classic TV talk show that premiered on Amazon Prime and Amazon Prime UK (and distributed by Shout! Factory TV).

Share This Speaker

More Speakers


A.G. Billig – Writer, Author Coach, Founder of Self-Publishing Mastery A.G. Billig is a multifaceted

Angela Bole

As chief executive officer of the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA), Angela Bole works to

Angela Shanté headshot

Angela Shanté

Angela Shanté is the award-winning author of The Noisy Classroom, a picture book that she